Released Today: Book 3 in The McGavin Brothers Series

The McGavin Brothers Series by Vicki Lewis Thompson

Contemporary Romance

 

A Cowboy’s Return (Book 3)

 

I received a free copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to review it and I honestly recommend it.

A Cowboy's Return

Overall Rating: 3.5 (sXe)

Quick & Dirty summary: Ryker McGavin has been back from serving his country for a few weeks and so far has been lucky to avoid his high school sweetheart April Harris. But when April needs a flight up Kalispell to see her sister, Ryker is determined to get the awkwardness out of the way. So what that she broke his heart? April has always had a thing for Ryker, but even though he’s back for good, she knows that they are too different to be together long term. He’s a war hero and she’s a vegetarian pacifist. How could they possibly make it work?

Beginning this book I was very excited. I have always wondered how two people who approach the world in fundamentally different ways make it work. To me, this book is premised upon a very real problem: what do you need to have in common, if anything, to make love work?

As I progressed through the book, I totally fell in love with Ryker. Although I probably have more in common with April, I found her to be a little bit distasteful. She’s too involved in her own worldview to allow people their differences.

That being said, by the end of the book, I loved Ryker and April together. I was really rooting for them, and I’m so glad this story ends in a happily ever after. I have to admit, though, that April is a little hard for me to take. I know a few pacifists and all of them admire our U.S. Veterans. It’s not that April doesn’t, it’s just that she didn’t seem to have a lot of empathy, and that’s weird to me because all of the pacifists I know are very empathetic people. But, I will admit, that on a rational level (so not dependent on my personal experience) I understand her reasoning and motivations.

In the end, I really enjoyed the book. If Ryker were a real person, I’d be ALL OVER HIM! He is the quintessential cowboy, as all the McGavin men are, and he is the real star of this book. If you need a sweet new book boyfriend, then look no further!

Is it worth buying? (Kindle $0.99 Special Price)

Yes! It’s very sweet and you should get it RIGHT NOW because of the special price for release week. At a buck this book is well-worth getting a small instead of a large Frappuccino at Starbucks!

Something else you might enjoy:

It’s not really the same storyline, but I enjoy how these two characters challenge each other about politics and personal beliefs. Kristen Ashley’s Kaleidoscope has two characters who make it work despite their differences.

Leave a Reply

