Would Liked to Have Enjoyed Masquerading More

Masquerading with the Billionaire by Alexia Adams

Contemporary Romance

 

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

 

Overall Rating: 3 (sXe)

 

Quick & Dirty summary: Jewelry designer Remington Wolfe knows that he has a leak in his company and with the biggest design competition coming up, he needs to call in a plumber (so to speak). Kat Smith is one of the best cyber-security experts out there, but she also has her share of secrets. When the chemistry between Remington and Kat heats up, they may catch a traitor, but loose their chance at love in the process.

 

I’m going to write this review a little differently than I’d normally write. Instead of narrative form, here are some quick bullet points about my thoughts on the book.

 

Things I enjoyed:

  1. The overall plot is interesting and I enjoyed the general series of events.
  2. I like the Russian culture/trip to Russia as a unique element to the story.
  3. I enjoy that Remington is a jewelry designer and Kat is a hacker. The switching of expected professions due to gender constructs is fun.

 

Things I did not enjoy:

  1. The writing is difficult to follow due to a lack of transitional phrases and sentences. This made the narrative seem stilted and I had a hard time understanding what was going on and why it was happening. Usually I only mention writing issues if it impedes my understanding of the story and in this case it did.
  2. It was difficult to always know whose point of view I was reading as there were no line breaks or other formatting indicators to help me know when the shift happened. In alternating first person narratives this can be difficult in ebook format, especially ARCs, but again it was to such a degree that I had a difficult time following the story.
  3. Secondary characters were not well developed even though they played an important role in the plot. Margaret-Mary is a good example. I would have enjoyed more time flushing Margaret-Mary and Harry.

 

Is it worth buying? (Kindle $2.99)

I’d pass on buying this novel. If you’re not as much of a stickler about grammar and what-not, you should give it a go, but I’d borrow it from the library or a friend if possible.

 

Something else you might enjoy:

Try His Undercover Princess by Avery Flynn. It’s got a bit of that mystery/suspense feel, but the writing is a bit stronger in my opinion. You can find my review of Flynn’s book here.

Leave a Reply

