Book Review & $25 Amazon GC Giveaway for Sweet Spot

Sweet Spot by Stella Rhys

Contemporary Romance

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Overall Rating: 3.5 (sXe)

Quick & Dirty summary: Lia is all about work. She’s not afraid to put her nose to the grindstone and for the last two and a half years she’s lived and breathed her new truffle company. Lia’s thrown a little off her game, though, when she meets her landlord’s brother for the first time… naked except for a towel, dripping wet, and locked out of her apartment. It doesn’t help that Lukas is a total jerk. While Lukas knows a beautiful woman when he sees one, he’s a little less sure of how to get Lia to change her opinion of him.

At first I didn’t like this book. Lukas and Lia were weird together. Lukas especially seemed like a total dick bag and I wasn’t sure why I should root for him as the hero. But after a while, much like Lia, my feelings towards Lukas thawed a little. His approach to Lia’s workaholic tendencies is different from other alphas in other books and I found that really refreshing.

I would have given this book a better review except that there are a lot of grammatical mistakes. It wasn’t enough to confuse me, but it was distracting. There are a lot of little mistakes like the wrong word in a sentence, or an extra word in a sentence that shouldn’t have been there at all and it happens pretty consistently throughout the book. So if you’re a stickler for mistakes, prepare yourself before beginning.

But overall, I loved Lia and Lukas, especially by the end of the novel. Lukas has a great backstory that makes him a much more sympathetic character. And Lia’s backstory is pretty much out there from the beginning, but it’s another one that adds some depth to her character. I don’t think there was a point in the novel where I wished for it to be over, so the pacing of the novel is good. And, the sex scenes are super duper hot! I mean smokin’! So you have that to look forward to as well.

Is it worth buying? (Kindle $2.99)

Yes, although it’s free with Kindle Unlimited. My yes isn’t a resounding yes because of the typos in the book, so if you can borrow it, I’d suggest doing that. But it’s a really fun read and worth the three bucks if you can ignore the occasionally error. Right now it’s on sale for $0.99 so get it while you can if the plot seems interesting to you!

Something else you might enjoy:

I’ve recommended this book before, but it’s especially applicable here. Try Wallbanger by Alice Clayton. It’s also about neighbors who get off on the wrong foot.

Title: Sweet Spot
Author: Stella Rhys
Genre: Romantic Comedy/Contemporary Romance
Release Date: March 30, 2017
Blurb

Our first meeting as neighbors was screwed from the start.He was hot. I was naked. And we had no chance in hell at ever being platonic. 

I’ll be the first to admit that I live at extremes. After going ten years locked in what felt like a dysfunctional marriage, I’m now decidedly boy-free. In nearly three years I’ve had no boyfriends, no flings, no dates and no sex. For the sake of my dream career, the sacrifice has been easy.

At least it was.

Until Lukas came along.

He’s rude, gorgeous, arrogant – a stone-carved wall of muscle and distraction. He’s everything I know to avoid but there’s no avoiding your next-door neighbor. Oh yeah. The man now lives three steps from me and to make matters worse, he crashed into my life while I was soaked in the tub. Mortifying to say the least and it went something like this: I ran out exposed. He looked. He laughed.

And then I locked myself out. 

In short, Lukas Hendricks was smirking, swaggering trouble from the start. And me?


I was – for the first time in years – about to be screwed.

Purchase Links
99c for a limited time
AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU
Free in Kindle Unlimited
Trailer
Author Bio
Stella Rhys is an author of contemporary romance and can’t help but write it hot, steamy and borderline filthy (just kidding, it’s flat-out filthy). Writing aside, she lives for coffee, the Yankees and cooking recipes way out of her league. She was born and raised in New York and now lives there with her husband and charmingly entitled fur baby.
Author Links

GOODREADS

TWITTER

Leave a Reply

