You Have to Look on the Bright Side

Bright Side by Kim Holden

New Adult

Bright Side

Overall Rating: 4 (sXe)

Quick & Dirty summary: Kate Sedgwick is excited to begin her college career. She’s always wanted to go to college and although she’s a little late, she’s happy to finally pursue her dream of becoming a special education teacher. When Kate meets Keller Banks she’s immediately smitten, but she knows nothing can come of it. Keller has his own reasons for avoiding a relationship with Kate, but he can’t help but be drawn to her bright, bubbly personality. Just when it seems like everything falls into place, that’s exactly when it all falls apart.

This book is heart wrenchingly awesome. I normally avoid books that make me cry like the plague, but I got it because Amazon recommended it. Like a dummy I read it and I can’t say I regret it. Kate is the best person I’ve ever met. Probably not in real life, but definitely in a book she’s the best character. Not just because she’s sweet and she’s who I strive to be, but because she’s really cool. I wish I was 1/10 as cool as her.

I can’t say too much more about this book because I don’t want to give it away. The main twist wasn’t that much a surprise, but you have to begin reading the book before you get a sense of where that’s going. Regardless of whether the twist in this book is a surprise or not, it’s inspiring. There are at least two more books in this series, but it will probably be another 3 years before I read such an emotionally intense book. But you know when I do, I’ll update this blog post.

Is it worth buying? (Kindle $3.99)

Yes! Yes you should buy this, yes you should read it. Triple yes if you have Kindle Unlimited because then it is free.

Something else you might enjoy:

I have never read this book, but from what I’ve heard, if you like Bright Side, you should try The Fault in our Stars by John Green.

Leave a Reply

