Entranced by Moonglow

Darkest London Series by Kristen Callihan

Historical Romance/Fantasy

 

Moonglow (Book 2)

moonglow-darkest-london-2

Overall Rating: 4 (sXe)

Quick & Dirty Summary: Daisy Ellis Craigmore has always seemed like the daring sister. Outrageous and infectious, Daisy’s big personality seems to imply a certain looseness of character. And now that her year of mourning her stuffy old husband is done, Daisy is determined to earn her reputation. Her pleasure is short-lived when she witnesses a gruesome murder and is almost killed herself. When Ian Ranulf happens to come along and save her, she promptly puts him in his place. Yet, as killings continue to happen in London, Ian must keep Daisy close in order to keep her safe. And as he does so, they both learn some startling new things about each other and themselves.

To say I enjoyed this book would be an understatement. I was completely enthralled and had a hard time putting it down. I love Daisy’s personality, although parts of it seemed uneven to me. She loves perfume and has a great sense of smell, but hates dirt and being outside. It seems like all the best smells would be outside in a garden. But what do I know? In any case, she is spunky and outgoing and I really enjoyed getting to know her better (her appearance in the first book is rather brief).

Ian I could take or leave. He wasn’t the super swoony guy I’d always hoped for, but the dialogue between Ian and Daisy is great. His tragic backstory explains a lot of his behavior in the first book of the series, and I love when an author takes a challenging character and transforms him into a sympathetic one. That Kristen Callihan succeeds is evident in how much I like this book.

There is a lot of action and quite a few plot twists throughout this novel. I was very surprised by the evil mastermind behind all the killings and really enjoyed that aspect of the storyline. I can’t wait to read the next novel, since the end of this one gives a glimpse into the next one. That’s the bad thing about borrowing the books from the library—it takes FOREVER to get the next installment. But I’ll happily wait if it means more of this exciting goodness!

Is it worth buying? (Kindle $8.99)

This one makes me edgy because even though I liked the book, more than the first one even, nine dollars for an e-book makes me uncomfortable. I definitely recommend reading it, but I think borrowing it from the library may be the way to go unless you’re going to buy the whole series.

Something else you might enjoy:

The London Steampunk Series by Bec McMaster has a similar feel to the Darkest London Series and I really enjoyed the first book in the series, Kiss of Steel. And the best part about it is that it’s free to read if you have Kindle Unlimited. I didn’t read the rest of the series, but there are a lot of books, five to be exact with an additional two novellas, so if you’re looking for a new series this may be a good option.

Leave a Reply

