Series I Hope Van Dyken Keeps

Seaside Pictures Series by Rachel Van Dyken

New Adult

This is the second book in the series. You can read my review of the first book, Capture, here.

Keep (Book 2)

keep

Overall Rating: 4 (sXe)

Quick & Dirty Summary: Zane (Saint) Andrews is a sex symbol the world over. While Zane is perfectly happy playing the role of playboy, he has more than one secret he’s done just about everything to hide. No one wants to think of a rock god as a person who struggles with anxiety and food issues. Fallon is a huge fan of Zane and while she is perfectly content to admire him from afar, when her best friend throws her to the wolves (aka Zane) she knows she has nothing to offer him. After all, she’s nerdy, awkward and isn’t nearly as beautiful as the women he is pictured with in the tabloids. But Zane doesn’t want those Hollywood beauties; he wants someone who sees him for himself. When Zane realizes that Fallon can help him keep his image while providing inspiration for the songs he needs to write, he makes Fallon a deal. They get more than they bargained for once Zane’s walls come down and his secrets are revealed.

I love this book more than I loved the first book and that’s saying something because I really enjoyed Capture. One of my primary reasons for loving this book is Zane. He is so complicated, but his issues make sense once his history is revealed. Zane has layers and they aren’t all sweet, but they also aren’t all horrible. I love the way his anxiety is dealt with because it’s clear there are no simple answers. While we’d all like for love to solve every problem, that’s just not the truth of it.

Of course I enjoy Fallon a lot because I love an awkward heroine. There’s nothing better than the popular guy falling for the sweet, insecure girl. Plus, I love the name Fallon because one of my sweetest friends is named Fallon (Hi Fallon! She reads my blog :-).

Like all of Rachel Van Dyken’s books, there is a lot of action in this book. The circle of friends who surround Zane are really sweet, kind of outrageous, and funny. They add a great dimension to the novel and once again I wish I had read the Seascape series. As a side note, I just saw that Amazon has a bundled version of the Seascape series for $4.99, which sounds like an awesome deal!

Unfortunately I don’t see any more books scheduled for this series. Van Dyken has published or will publish first books in new series so I’m not sure if more books are in the future on this one. If anyone knows if more are coming, please let me know! Maybe I will send Rachel a tweet and see if I can get a response.

UPDATE: Rachel tweeted me back saying book 3 is set for July 2017! It will feature Will and Angelica’s story. Happy news!!

Is it worth buying? (Kindle $2.99)

Yes! I really enjoyed this book. I think I enjoyed it more than the first one and I liked the first one a lot. I will be honest with you, though, and tell you I borrowed it from the library.

Something else you might enjoy:

Try Marry Me at Christmas by Susan Mallery. It’s part of a series but can be read as a standalone. I love the Fool’s Gold Series, but this particular book has a similar plot, except with older characters and without the anxiety and edgy feel. It’s a little expensive so you might want to borrow it from the library if you’ve never read a book in this series.

2 thoughts on “Series I Hope Van Dyken Keeps

Leave a Reply

