Loved being Managed

VIP Series by Kristen Callihan

Contemporary Romance

This is the second book in the series. I have not read the first book and while I feel bad about it, I’m not inclined to read it at this point in time. I have a few other books I’m in the middle of, but when I do go back and read Idol (Book 1), I will update this post.

Managed (Book 2)

managed

Overall Rating: 4 (sXe)

Quick & Dirty summary: It’s Gabriel Scott vs. Sophie Darling and Sophie is determined to torment the sexy, grumpy if it’s the last thing she does on this transatlantic flight. After spending seven hours alternating between flirting and comforting Gabriel, Sophie is happy to leave him behind. However, she is embarrassed to find out that she will be seeing a lot more of Gabriel if she lands her dream job with one of the most famous bands on the planet. Embarrassed or not, Sophie is determined to poke Gabriel until the man’s icy demeanor melts, but there is a big chance she’ll get burned in the process.

From the very beginning of the book the chemistry between Gabriel and Sophie is evident. The witty dialogue had me smiling and the whole interaction between them on the airplane made me feel warm and fuzzy. The strong beginning continues throughout the book as Gabriel and Sophie are electric together. While their relationship gets increasingly more complex, Gabriel and Sophie remain true to their characters at the beginning of the book—Sophie as a spunky, honest woman and Gabriel as an emotionally distant but intensely caring man. Despite that, there is quite a lot of character development for Gabriel, which is awesome to follow.

The pacing of the novel is excellent. I ate up every word and while there was conflict, it didn’t seem contrived or overly drawn out. I came to love Gabriel and would happily have him as my book boyfriend any day of the week. The supporting characters were well-drawn and I’m looking forward to reading more in the series. Overall, Kristen Callihan is a talented writer who seems to be especially great at writing dialogue.

Is it worth buying? (Kindle $3.99)

I bought it and I don’t regret it. In fact, I’m really happy I bought it because now I have a new author to read. I’ve checked out a few more Kristen Callihan books and I can’t wait to read them!

Something else you might enjoy:

Try The Hooker and the Hermit by Penny Reid and L.H. Cosway. It has a vaguely similar plot line along with being funny and well-written—definitely worth your time. The best part is that it is currently a Kindle Unlimited book so you can read it for free if you are a member.

Leave a Reply

