Strange Luck Book 1

Strange Luck Series by Amie Irene Winters

Yong Adult Fantasy

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. The second book in the series is The Nightmare Birds and I will be posting a separate review once I have finished reading that book.

Strange Luck (Book 1)

strange-luck

Overall Rating: 4

 

Quick Summary: Daisy Darling has spent her life listening to far-fetched stories in her father’s shop Strange Luck. Specializing in the mythical, mystical and mysterious, Daisy has enough material to pursue her dream of writing for years. But Daisy has to take care of the store, especially since her father needs a heart transplant that they can’t afford. When Daisy finds out that these stories aren’t just made up, she’s trapped in a world that she can’t quite decipher or escape.

This is not a love story in the traditional sense so it’s a little out of the blog’s normal reach. There is a bit of romance, but the story is much more focused on Daisy’s journey. Essentially it’s a coming of age novel where Daisy realizes that there are more possibilities in life than she originally thought. I appreciate that the lesson Daisy learns has to do with the place of dreams and memories in creating meaning in our lives. This is such an important lesson and I love that it is interwoven into an exciting tale of adventure.

The writing and dialogue are smooth and the world that Amie Winters creates is vivid and interesting. However, there are some lingering questions in my mind. I don’t quite understand everything that happens in the novel and that unsettles me. Fantasy/paranormal is a genre in which a lot of odd things occur, but I still like everything to add up. So that’s my only real problem with the novel. I don’t want to go into more detail because I don’t want to spoil it for anyone else.

Is it worth buying? (Kindle $2.99)

Yes! It’s a lot of fun and it’s a quick read. Although it is a part of a series it can stand alone with no cliffhanger ending and I would definitely recommend it to my 17-year-old sister. It’s also a Kindle Unlimited book so it’s free to read if you have a subscription.

Something else you might enjoy:

The Savannah Witches series is another great young adult fantasy/paranormal series. I loved it and it is one of the first books I reviewed on my blog so it has a fond place in my heart.

3 thoughts on “Strange Luck Book 1

  1. Pingback: love serially

  2. Pingback: Cover Reveal: Book 3 in Strange Luck Series | love serially

  3. Pingback: Final Book in the Strange Luck Series | love serially

Leave a Reply

