Choose Your Own Ending

Macie’s Choice: A You Choose Romance by Julie Hill and Kit Underwood

Contemporary Romance/Choose Your Own Ending

macies-choice

Overall Rating: 2.5 (sXe)

Quick & Dirty summary: Macie Bennett is trying to pursue her dream of becoming a writer. While she does her day job temping for an agency, she tries to figure out a way to get her manuscript into the hands of a publisher. When she meets two men who could help her realize her dream, she faces some difficult choices. As the reader, I get to help her make those choices as she stumbles her way to true love.

I received this book as a gift from a friend of mine who loves to read too. She had seen this and thought it was an interesting concept and so I was the lucky recipient! I had never read a “choose your own ending” book before and was really interested to see how the concept plays out. Basically, at the end of every chapter there were two options. Once I selected one of the two actions Macie should pursue, it jumped me to the next chapter. Since it was an e-book, the selection process was pretty seamless and the whole story seemed to flow together easily. I imagine if it was a paper copy of the book, it would have been annoying to flip to page 67 from page 20. As a side note, it did make me sad that I missed out on all the other possibilities, but there was no way I could go back and re-choose each selection to see how the book would have ended otherwise—there were just too many options.

This book is exactly the type of book I should like. I hate it when heroines make silly decisions and then moan about the drama that ensues. While I love romance novels, I’m not a big fan of needless conflict. That being said, Macie is not a sympathetic character to me. While I got to make all of her decisions for her, her actual personality is less than appealing. She comes off as insecure, flighty, and selfish.

The two love interests in this story are also flat characters to me. There are some technical reasons why this would be true—after all, part of the “choice” is I have to judge which man deserves to be with Macie and if I know all of their own thoughts and feelings, then it’s not much of a choice. However, it is totally realistic that two nice guys could like Macie and it’s a matter of choosing the artistic one or the business savvy one. Instead, the authors decide to make it a contest between which man-whore Macie should trust. I wasn’t really thrilled about that.

Mechanically the book is well written. The dialogue flowed smoothly and the characters remained pretty consistent throughout. There are a few sex scenes, so it does have some steamy bits. And in the end, I think I’m happy with the choices I made for Macie.

Is it worth buying? (Kindle $2.99)

If you are like me and have never read a story like this before, it might be worth trying if you have Kindle Unlimited. It’s free and it’s interesting and I’m glad I read it. If you have to pay for it, I’d suggest trying something else.

Something else you might enjoy: I have never read a book like this before, so I have no suggestions. Have you tried a “create your own ending/you choose romance” book? How did you like it?

Leave a Reply

