Review & Giveaway of Tijan’s Sustain

Sustain by Tijan

Contemporary Romance

To say thank you to my faithful readers, I have a signed copy of Sustain to give away. Entering this contest is easy. To enter, simply respond to this review—you can give your own opinion, ask a question, or recommend a musically related book. Your chances of winning are relatively good, since this blog is in its first year so give it a try. The contest will be open until Sept. 29, 2016 and I will try and mail the book out to you the following week after I receive your address. Please make sure there is some way I can get ahold of you to let you know you’ve won. Either provide your email in your comment or check back on the blog on Sept. 29 to see who has won. If I can’t reach you in 24 hours, I’ll pick another winner. This will be a random drawing and not based on the “quality” of your comment. One entry per person.

 

Disclaimer: This give-away is in no way sponsored by WordPress, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, or the internet in general. This is also my first give-away so please be patient with me. I will do the best I can to make this fun! The whole point is to interact with those of you who read this blog and help me feel better about myself!

sustain

Overall Rating: 3.5 (sXe)

Quick & Dirty summary: Brielle’s life hasn’t been easy. She does her day-to-day thing, just trying to survive, but when her boyfriend’s house is raided and she’s taken into the police station for questioning she realizes her life needs to change. Primarily she’s got to break up with her drug-dealing boyfriend. When her twin brother’s band needs her to fill in for a night on the drums, Bri realizes that she’s been missing something important in her life. And while the music pulls her in and beats in her veins, it’s the band’s lead singer, Luke, who sets her on fire.

To be honest, I wanted to like this book more than I did. Brielle sounds amazing with her talent on the drums, her hard-knocks life, and her twin brother, but none of those aspects of her character were fully developed for me. Luke, likewise, seemed like he could be the sexy musician hero worthy of my dreams, but his behavior seemed erratic and inexplicable.

What saved the novel for me was Bri and Luke’s history. They grew up together, were best friends, and the event that tears them apart is a tragedy. They both come from dysfunctional homes so there is some complexity to their relationship that made their relationship interesting to me. While the ending was a little unsatisfying since it all seemed to happily ever after quickly without a true resolution to their conflict, this was a quick and easy read. There was a lot of drama, what with the ex-boyfriend showing up occasionally, an evil cousin, and a music deal, so if you’re into that, then this is a great book.

I want to say this romance is more suited for those in their early 20s, but I also don’t want to pigeonhole readers. The characters felt very young and so I had a harder time relating to them, but the love story between Brielle and Luke spans a lot of years, so I think that’s why it’s not in the New Adult section. In any case, it’s a fun book to pick up if you have some time and want to spend it reading about a strong woman dealing with feelings of guilt regarding the only guy she’s ever loved.

Is it worth buying? ($3.99 Kindle)

I probably wouldn’t buy it, but I did read it for free with Kindle Unlimited. I would recommend borrowing it. It’s a relatively short book at 232 pages so it’s probably better for an inexpensive weekend spent at home reading, than traveling to the bookstore to pick up a paperback copy.

So you might be wondering why I chose this book to give-away. First, I love that Bri is a strong female heroine. While she does slightly crazy things, I like those kind of characters. Two, Tijan is a strong writer and I think she has mass appeal so I thought it’d be great to get something others would like. And three, I’m a tough critic (my average Goodreads score is 3.32) and even though my review is rather mediocre, this is an enjoyable book.

Something else you might enjoy:

If you love women who rock, then you might enjoy Olivia Cunning’s Double Time, the last book in her Sinners on Tour series. I’ve reviewed the entire series on this blog, so you can read more about it here. But just a heads up, this is one steamy story and it lives up to the cliché of sex and rock-n-roll.

Leave a Reply

