Strong Characters, Fun Story

Tempt Me Series by Avery Flynn

Contemporary Romance/Romantic Suspense

 

His Undercover Princess

 His Undercover Princess

I was given a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

 

Overall Rating: 3.5 (sXe)

 

Quick & Dirty summary: Elle Olsen has been hiding out for her entire adult life. After her father is killed in front of her, the rest of her family slain in a coup, Elle is dropped off in a new country with a new identity with no new friends to help her. She’s managed to figure life out, working as a personal shopper, but she’s not as prepared as she thinks when billionaire playboy Dominick Rasmussen kidnaps her in the blink of an eye. Dominick will stop at nothing to see Princess Eloise take her rightful place on the thrown, but Elle cannot forget what serving her country has cost her—everything.

The major themes of this novel include loyalty, responsibility, and self-sacrifice. It’s probably for those reasons that I like it as much as I do. It’s not often that I read novels revolving around those values and I miss those stalwart characters. I am also a huge fan of Audrey Hepburn, so the not-so-brief references to her in the novel make me smile.

Elle is characterized as a smart, strong woman who is largely self-sufficient and stubborn. Dominick has a reputation of a playboy that is only mentioned because it happens off-page, with a mysterious past. I’d like to say that these characters develop further, but what you see is what you get. Although Elle changes her mind mid-novel, she doesn’t actually change as a character. And while Dominick’s painful past is revealed, he remains the sexy, duty-bound second-in-command.

I would have loved this book more had there been more of a transition between Elle’s stubborn refusals to assume the thrown and watching Roman Holiday. I understand the movie drives the last half of the novel (or maybe the whole novel), but her interest in staying with Dominick is never really described beyond the chemistry. Perhaps if the novel was longer, Flynn would have had a chance to provide more scenes where some of the tension is broken with laughter or common interest.

Overall, though, this is a fun novel to read. There is lots of excitement and action for such a short book. And the whole idea of a modern day princess who can bestow gifts and titles to her followers is pretty cool. I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series.

Is it worth buying? (Kindle $2.99)

It’s only 147 pages, which would normally make me cringe at this price. But, I love the Audrey Hepburn connection and the devotion to duty-thing, so I’m going to say yes. Yes you should buy it.

Something else you might enjoy:

I thought long and hard about this one. I know there are a number of historical romance novels that would follow a similar storyline, but I’m not as current on my historical romances as I have been in the past. So I’m going to go in a different direction and offer you two recommendations that couldn’t be more different. First, there’s Catherine Bybee’s Wife by Wednesday. It’s a contemporary romance where the guy is an aristocrat who must marry in order to save his legacy. Then there’s Kristen Ashley’s With Everything I Am. It’s the second in three book paranormal romance series. The hero is the king of the werewolves and the heroine has been in hiding due to her special abilities. I think you can see why I recommended these two, depending on what type of mood you’re in at the time.

One thought on “Strong Characters, Fun Story

  1. Pingback: Would Liked to Have Enjoyed Masquerading More | love serially

Leave a Reply

