Need to Read, Need to Write

feature-and-follow

This week’s Feature and Follow question is: Why did you start blogging?

Like most people who have a book blog, I started blogging because I love reading. But, I also started blogging because I love writing. My blog is relatively young; it hasn’t yet reached its first birthday.

When I began the blog, I had been finished with my M.A. for about a year, a little more because of time writing my master’s thesis. At that point, I really missed the thinking that goes along with writing. It wasn’t enough to just read one book after another. The books begin to blend together and I fell into a weird reading funk. I knew that if I took the time to write about each of the books I read, I would appreciate them more, and I’ve found this to be very true.

Too often academics and others think of romance novels as low brow, but like all creative efforts, what you get is what you put into it. If I really take the time to enjoy a well-written novel, I find that there are all sorts of thought-provoking components to it. And the trends in romance novels are great indicators of major cultural issues.

An unexpected benefit of blogging is getting to interact with great fellow-readers and talented writers. I’ve been really surprised at how warm, welcoming, and encouraging everyone is in the blogging community. It’s been wonderful, and even though my book reviews slow down a bit when life gets tough and busy, I keep at it because I love being connected to smart, caring people.

If you’d like to keep up with my blog, please follow me or sign up for emails. I usually blog a few times a week, so your inbox won’t get full if you add your address. You can also follow me on twitter @loveserially. And of course, I’d love to hear what you think, so please comment below or on any of my book reviews or blog posts.

13 thoughts on “Need to Read, Need to Write

    • Thanks for following! I had the wrong twitter profile connected to this blog. I found you on my correct twitter handle and followed you from it. If you’d like to follow me about this blog, it’s @loveserially on twitter.

      Like

  1. I started blogging because I’d heard it was something unpublished authors should do, but I found that I really enjoyed it. I blogged consistently about growth in my life for a year. Then it was time to take a break, but now I’m back with a lighter angle about romantic comedies, as well as my life and writing.
    Enjoyed your post! Look forward to seeing more!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Theresa,

      Thanks for following me! I had the wrong twitter handle connected to this blog. I found you on my twitter and followed you there. If you’d like to follow me from this blog, it’s @loveserially.

      Thanks again and I look forward to reading your stuff!

      Like

    • Thanks! I followed you back on Twitter. Also, read your FF and agree. I need to keep busy and I can’t think of a better way than reading and writing. Will post a response on your site soon, when I can get on my computer. Thanks again!

      Like

  2. Blogging is a wonderful thing, and I’ve connected with great people through blogging for two years. People out there who blog about similar things, and it feels supportive with our likes and comments. Encouragements are valuable with creative pursuits.

    And I like your note about romance novels. Admittedly, I haven’t read a ton of them. I’ve written erotica, and my writing has shifted from focused less on sex and more on the emotional relationship — the romance, I suppose. I agree with you that a well-written book is certainly worth the time to enjoy reading. And that could be in any genre. Because a well-written book can have a wide scope, not just the material of its category.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

