In Love with a Neanderthal

Knitting in the City by Penny Reid

Contemporary Romance

 

So far this is a five book series. I will be posting a review of each book leading up to the fifth book, Happily Ever Ninja.

 

Neanderthal Seeks Human (Book 1)

41MPL2YEqzL._SX311_BO1,204,203,200_

Overall Rating: 5 (xoxo)

 

Quick & Dirty summary: Janie Morris is not having a good day. She finds out her boyfriend cheated on her, her heels broke, she spilt something on her shirt and she’s been fired. Of course this also happens to be the day she actually gets to meet Sir McHotPants, otherwise known as hot security guard she’s been stalking for the last few weeks. Of course, Janie is also obvious to social cues and has a mind that rivals Wikipedia so she’s a little startled with McHotPants wants to know what she thinks. When Janie runs into him again, and he not only saves her from an uncertain fate, but helps her to get a job, she’s happy to get to know him better. But McHotPants is more complicated than just a gorgeous face, and she’s surprised to find out that he will do whatever it takes to make Janie his.

This is one of my favorite books of all time (you can see it ranked pretty high in my all time favorites list) and it’s my go-to book when I need a pick-me-up (or when I feel the urge to say words with hyphens in them). There are a lot of reasons to love this book, the biggest one being that it is laugh-out-loud funny. The added benefit of random trivia is nice, but mostly it’s the great humor woven throughout this novel that gets me. I have read this book at least four times and each time I love Janie more and more. I’m not sure it’s even possible to love a fictional character as much as I love Janie, especially since I am heterosexual. But I want to be her friend so badly. I find her quirkiness endearing and I love to learn new things, so she’d be perfect for me.

Alas, as all the best people are, she is fictional and she is fictionally established with a great group of friends. I love Penny Reid’s ability to make the secondary characters so unique and integral to the story. This is necessary, of course, because the rest of the series is based on these characters, but the mutual love and respect they have for each other really comes across the page.

Quinn is hot, of course, but what I especially like about Reid’s portrayal of him is that he is an alpha male who still manages to be a little bit insecure, which makes him all the more realistic. I’ve often thought that alpha males in most romance novels are ridiculous. How can one man have so much self-confidence? Who never feels a moment of insecurity or anxiety? There are moments when Quinn is so totally human that I get gushy thinking about him. The chapter that is written from his point of view is like a shot to the heart (yes, I misquoted Bon Jovi).

I also have a major crush on Penny Reid, primarily because her novels are so well written. The dialogue flows smoothly, the descriptions are perfectly balanced, and her plots move at an even pace. I wasn’t bored at any point of the book, nor did I think it moved so fast that I got love whiplash. After the first book, I knew Penny Reid was going to be my new favorite author.

Is it worth buying? (Kindle $0.00)

Yes, you saw that correctly. Currently this book is free. FREE! Did I say free? If free doesn’t convince you that you must buy this book, then perhaps my five star rating will. Did you miss that? Your eye might have skimmed over that part. But you can’t miss my very blunt order that you MUST buy this book.

Something else you might enjoy:

I can’t think of any book that I have found as funny or enjoyable as this one. Obviously, you need to read the rest of the books in the series. That being said, Penny Reid co-authored a book with L.H. Cosway, The Hooker and the Hermit, and it’s pretty good. Socially awkward woman meets hunky man means a good read.

Leave a Reply

