Beautiful Knight

The Unfinished Heroes Series by Kristen Ashley

Contemporary Romance

The Unfinished Heroes Series is a series about anti-heroes, or, more accurately, heroes who don’t know that they are heroes to someone/anyone. There is a lot of dark stuff in this series, chief amongst it all is the unconventional sex. Because of that all of the books have an XXX rating from me, although they vary in intensity. Currently the series is on sale ($1.99 each instead of $3.99 each book) in anticipation of the fifth and final book, Sebring, being released January 11, 2016. I am reviewing the books in order so the stories can be fresh in our minds when Nick’s is available. If you haven’t picked up these books, now is a great time to do so!

 

41S8guclCUL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

Knight (Book 1)

P.S. How cool is this book cover? It’s sleek and sexy without a single glimpse of skin. Whoever designed this cover is genius!

Overall Rating: 4 (XXX)

Quick & Dirty summary: Knight Sebring is a real-life white knight for those who seek his protection. He isn’t the kind who protects princesses or defeats dragons, but what he does he believes in whole-heartedly. Anya Gage hasn’t exactly had it easy, but she’s not afraid of hard work to get what she wants. So when she meets Knight at a party in a swanky condo, she doesn’t need his help. Despite that, Knight can’t stay away from Anya, and Anya can’t seem to break Knight’s spell on her. So as the two of them fall in love, Anya will have to decide whether she believes in Knight’s mission as much as he does.

My favorite thing about this book has to be the opening scene where Anya meets Knight at the party. There is something about it that just sticks with me. The girl standing against the wall in cheap clothes surrounded by people trying to find some artificial happiness is someone I totally relate to; not to mention how hot Knight is throughout their interaction. Sometimes, when I think randomly of books that I like, I think of this particular scene.

That being said, this isn’t one of my all-time favorite books, primarily because Knight makes me uncomfortable. Not as uncomfortable as Hawk in Mystery Man (you can read my review of that book here), but Knight is quintessentially an anti-hero when it comes to romance hero tropes. There is this invisible line that gets drawn in the sand in romance novels that Knight crosses and I think you’ll understand what I mean once you read the novel. Part of what makes me like Knight more than Hawk is that Kristen Ashley spends a bunch of time explaining the psychology behind Knight which makes him a sympathetic character. He is who he is because of how he was raised and it is believable to me and it makes sense to me. However, what he does is shady and illegal and difficult to handle. I don’t want to get too political in this blog, but I believe in what Knight does. Personally, I think prostitution should be legalized, regulated, and prostitutes should be protected by law enforcement. But, the amazing and the uncomfortable thing is that there are a whole lot of other “bad” things that orbit around prostitution that Ashley faithfully represents that make me sad (and uncomfortable! sorry to say that for the fifth time). Since that’s the truth, Knight must deal with those “bad” things by doing some “bad” things, which is why I get a little queasy about him and the book.

So, this isn’t one of those novels that is going to make you believe in all of the good things in the world. If that’s the kind of novel you are looking for, then don’t read this book and don’t proceed with this series. If you are looking for a novel that isn’t afraid of some of the harsher realities of the world, and you still find beauty and hope amidst that carnage, then this is the book and the series for you. In a lot of ways, this makes me more in awe of Ashley than any other author because it is not easy to create characters who navigate this kind of reality and come out the other side loveable. But then again, you guys already know how much I love Kristen Ashley.

Is it worth buying? (Kindle $1.99 special price; $3.99 otherwise)

Yes, totally. I bought this one at full price and I’m happy I did. I’ve re-read this book at least 3 times. It would have a 5 rating except this book is not for everyone.

Something else you might enjoy:

Read the rest of the series! It’s a no-brainer, but seriously, the other books in this series are just as good!

 

Leave a Reply

