Finding the Right Reason

Every Wrong Reason by Rachel Higginson

Contemporary Romance

 

Overall Rating: 4 (sXe)

51AidiE7K0L._SX311_BO1,204,203,200_

Quick & Dirty summary: First comes love, then comes marriage, but what happens when the baby never arrives? For Kate Carter, she thought her marriage to Nick would be her one and only. But after years of fighting, Kate’s ready to throw in the towel. Feeling like a failure is nothing compared to feeling like she’s dragging Nick down. After months of silence from Nick, Kate is shocked when Nick fights the divorce and fights for the very things he used to hate. Confused and hurt, Kate is looking forward to the day when she can stop thinking about Nick and feeling pain. The question that haunts Kate is whether or not that day will ever arrive.

The major conflict of this novel is what drew me to it. I have always wondered what happens after the happily ever after, and here we have a pretty realistic version. I haven’t done a scientific study, but all of the couples I know who have been married 15 years or more have said that they had contemplated getting divorced at one time or another. As scary and disappointing as it is, I love that Rachel Higginson is writing about it. What I also loved was how honest the novel was about the pain. That whole “you can’t live with ‘em, you can’t live without ‘em” saying comes alive in this novel.

While overall I enjoyed this story, the characters annoyed me a bit. Kate was kind of whiny, although I understood and could relate to her thinking. And Nick acted so bizarrely; I wondered how he could ever really think that what he was doing would get Kate back. And would an author please present a cast of supportive friends and co-workers instead of all the catty bitches that seem to populate romance novels? Sorry that came out a little more blunt than it should AND I should probably edit it out, but that’s how I feel. Regardless of all of that, I loved the ending of the novel and I thought it was brilliant that one of the underlying problems for Kate and Nick’s marriage wasn’t just his job and it wasn’t just her attitude, but it came back to the baby issue. It speaks to the very heart of what some people hope for their marriage, even if it never gets talked about specifically or directly. Just brilliant!

Is it worth buying? (Kindle $3.99)

Yes, I enjoyed this novel a lot. I think it’s worth the price.

Something else you might enjoy:

It isn’t out yet, but I am eagerly looking forward to Penny Reid’s Happily Ever Ninja. It isn’t about divorce per se, but it is about a marriage in all its complexity. You can pre-order it now. Luckily for you, you can read the novella connected to this story right now, Ninja at First Sight.

2 thoughts on “Finding the Right Reason

  1. Pingback: Review: Happily Ever Ninja | love serially

  2. Pingback: The Tiny Threads of Marriage | love serially

Leave a Reply

