Enjoy the Oracel’s Moon

The Elder Races Series by Thea Harrison

Paranormal Romance

This is the fourth book in the Elder Races Series. Some of the novels follow Pia and Dragos, the main characters from the first novel. Others, like this one, follow new characters. Oracle’s Moon follows directly after Serpent’s Kiss, so I would recommend reading the series in order. You can read my reviews of the earlier novels here on my blog by clicking the drop box on the Elder Races Series category located in the column to the right of this post.

Oracle’s Moon

Overall Rating: 4 (sXe)

Book Cover for Oracle's MoonQuick & Dirty summary: Grace Andreas knew the moment she woke up from a fatal car accident that her sister Petra had died because she felt the power of the Oracle. The Oracle has been in the Andreas family for generations and while Grace is prepared for the responsibility, she is heartbroken to loose her sister and her brother-in-law. Now Grace has two children to raise, her niece and her nephew, leaders of the Elder Races knocking on her door, and a Djin tethered to her family.

This novel, in some senses, is about overcoming prejudices. Perhaps all of the novels are about that, but this one more so as Khalil must overcome his initial impressions of Grace to truly understand her situation in life and her limited choices. Conversely, Grace feels first-hand the backlash witches have against Djin, and all of the Elder Races, as her family gets caught in the cross-hairs of a political assassination. Like most paranormal stories, this one explores what knits us together as a community and as a family.

I love Grace and Khalil in this novel. They are so sweet together. Their common concern for children and their ability to love so fiercely is beautiful to see. I admire Grace so much as a character: She is strong, she is scarred, and she is courageous. I love having her as a female leading lady. I am amazed at how this series continues to be so good. The quality of writing is still strong, four books into the series, and I can’t wait to continue reading to see what happens to bring all of these characters together.

Is it worth buying? (Kindle $7.99)

Yes, I love this series. I would gladly pay for it, but I borrow it from the library instead. Waiting for the books to become available is torture, so if you have the spare cash, buy buy buy!

Something else you might enjoy:

I don’t know that I’ve ever read a novel about a Djin or an Oracle. Well, I did reading the Witching Savannah series, but I’ve already recommended that one. There is Grace Showalter’s Lords of the Underworld series that has an Oracle in it, if I remember correctly. That’s a really good series that I highly recommend!

Leave a Reply

