Have Fun with One Night of Sin

After Hours Series by Elle Kennedy

Contemporary Romance

This is another situation where I’m not sure I will continue reading the other books in the series. I think I will like them, but I can’t seem to work up the motivation to read them and it’s primarily because I don’t really like the whole dating your friend’s ex. I stayed away from it in real life and while I know it can work in happily ever after land, I’m not ready to go there yet. But once again, I promise when I read the other novels in this series, I will update this post.

One Night of Sin

Overall Rating: 3.5 (sXe)

Book Cover of One Night of SinQuick & Dirty Summary: Skylar Thompson has a plan to find a safe guy to settle down with, but when she meets Gage Holt at a club, she can’t help but take a risk. Skylar’s sure it’s a fling, but once Gage decides to decides he hasn’t had enough, the two embark on a non-relationship relationship. Unfortunately, Gage has a bit of baggage, namely his brother, but this MMA fighter will be surprised when it’s Skylar who knows how to fight to win.

This is not a slow build novel. It is hot and steamy right from the beginning. What is awesome about it, though, is that Elle Kennedy follows that up with some old fashioned dating. Gage and Skylar really do fall in love and it’s fun to see. I enjoyed the interaction between the two of them, and Kennedy did a great job of setting up the next two novels in the series by describing Gage’s business partners and friends in detail.

The book moves rather quickly, which is nice so there is no chance to get bored. There is relatively little drama, outside of the primary source of conflict, which every novel must have. The solution is believable, but I was surprised by the quick series of revelations Skylar went though at the end. That seemed a bit rushed and I wish there had been a few conversations, rather than stream of consciousness passages, that helped to develop the final conclusion. Sorry this is so vague, but I don’t want to spoil the ending, so I’m going to leave it at that and hope you can figure it out once you’ve read the novel.

Is it worth buying? (Kindle $0.99)

Yes, I enjoyed it and it’s only a dollar. It’s a relatively short book at about 160 pages, so I think it’s a good deal.

Something else you might enjoy:

The Tornado by Missy Blue was a great read that puts a new twist on the fighter romance genre. I loved this book and I think you will too.

Leave a Reply

