Hold On to Fool’s Gold

Fool’s Gold series by Susan Mallery

Contemporary Romance

Normally I would review the whole series, but you’ll find that this post reviews only one book in the series. Although I’ve mentioned this series a few times in previous blog posts, I never thought I’d write a book review of Fool’s Gold because it is such a LONG series, with over 17 books. Realistically there are just too many good books I haven’t read yet to justify going back and re-reading the 14 or so I’d need to read to offer a full series review. I do want to read the newer additions to Fool’s Gold, so I’ve decided I had to content myself with offering single story reviews as I read them.

Hold Me (Book 16)

Overall Rating: 3.5 (sXe)

Book Cover of Hold MeQuick & Dirty summary: Destiny Mills knows all about living in the public eye, so when she’s asked to work with Olympic gold medalist Kipling Gilmore, she isn’t fazed. Sure, Kipling is handsome and the chemistry between them is sizzling, but she is determined not to make the same mistakes her parents did, letting emotions and attraction influence her decisions. Kipling is intrigued by the controlled redhead and wouldn’t mind hooking up while Destiny is in town for three months setting up Fool’s Gold search and rescue program. But he’s having a hard time convincing her to trust her feelings rather than her levelheaded plans.

I was really excited to read this book because it had been a while since I’d read a Fool’s Gold story. All of the previous 15 novels or so were great and this one sounded promising. I was a little disappointed though. For me, the book was very slow. There is a lot of repetition of Destiny’s childhood trauma and her vision for how she wants her life to be as an adult. It would have been fine, on some level, except that most of the repetition was done through stream of consciousness thoughts that felt as if Susan Mallery could have copied whole passages from the first few pages of the novel.

Despite this, I still enjoyed it. Mallery is a great author and there is a fundamental level in which her books cannot be bad. The dialogue flows smoothly, characters develop as the plot progresses, and it’s fun to catch up with the rest of the population of Fool’s Gold. One area that I particularly liked was how important music was to Destiny and her sister. Early on Destiny thinks, “life was a soundtrack. Music was everywhere. Notes formed melodies, and melodies were little more than memories to be recalled.” This is such a beautiful idea; I love it. I wish Mallery had done a little more with it later in the novel as Destiny sings, having it evoke memories that give further insight into her childhood, but it’s still a lovely theme.

Is it worth buying? (Kindle $4.99)

Yes. I was actually a little surprised it was only $5 and not $8. Although I was a little disappointed in the book, there were still many fine aspects of the story, like the bond between siblings that made this a worthwhile read.

Something else you might enjoy:

Jill Shalvis has a Lucky Harbor series that might be fun to read. I haven’t read them all, so I can’t say personally that all of them are good, but Shalvis is a strong writer and the books I have read I’ve enjoyed! While these books interconnect, you do not have to read them in order and they are all standalone novels.

Leave a Reply

