Enjoyable Halloween Romance

Holiday Café Series by Evelyn Aster

Contemporary Romance

Masked Hearts

Overall Rating: 3.5 (sXXe)

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. You can read more by Evelyn Aster on her blog, Evelyn Aster.

Book Cover of Masked HeartsQuick & Dirty summary: Sienna has had nothing but bad experiences with men. Sure, they love her, but they inevitably leave her to save the world. So now this kindergarten teacher is protecting her heart, wanting only a slam-bam-thank-you-ma’am relationship. When Sienna runs into Mark, the father of one of her students, it’s hard to deny their chemistry. While Sienna doesn’t mind a sexual relationship, Mark is hoping for more. But with a drunk ex-wife, a vindictive co-worker, and demanding bosses, Mark has a hard time convincing Sienna to trust her heart to him.

What I loved most about this novel was the time Evelyn Aster took to describe the characters’ personalities and mindsets. The characters are pretty vibrant and Mark is a saint with how patient he is with Sienna. And the sex scenes are HOT! Man those are some steamy scenes, which is why I added an extra X in my rating scale. 😉

I wasn’t a big fan of Sienna. It’s not really her personality, but more that it took her so long to get over her past. Approximately halfway through the book I wanted to stop reading because she was so frustrating. Although in terms of days it wasn’t that many, it felt drawn out. I wanted to shake her like any good girlfriend would when a friend is being a dummy. I did appreciate that she wasn’t your typical heroine. She sang in the church choir, she sewed, but she was still a modern woman who tried to stand up to herself. I liked that she was a mix of old school femininity and modern sexuality.

Is it worth buying? (Kindle $3.99)

This is a relatively long book with quite a lot going on. I think it’s worth the $3.99 for all the steamy sex scenes and I can’t wait for the next book in the series Thankful Hearts.

Something else you might enjoy:

You know, I haven’t really seen a series of holiday themed books. This is definitely the only one that comes to my mind, although there are a lot of Christmas romance novels. And while at first I thought it was pretty hokey, now I like it!

3 thoughts on “Enjoyable Halloween Romance

  1. Pingback: Read… | Evelyn Aster

  2. Pingback: Love to and for our Vets | love serially

  3. Pingback: The Real Neat Blogger Award | Evelyn Aster

Leave a Reply

