Cliffhanger Heartbreak

Hawaiian Heartbreak by Libby Cole

Rating: 4 (sXe)

Contemporary Romance

Book Cover to Hawaiian HeartbreakThis novel is not a standalone. It has a cliffhanger ending and Libby Cole is busy writing the second book. Also, as a side note, I was born and raised in Hawaii, on Oahu, so I have a special relationship to this book. Some of my comments come from being from Hawaii, so you’ll have to excuse my biased reaction. Coincidentally enough, as I write this review a commercial for Hawaii came on the television.

Quick & Dirty summary: Kayla decides to go on a long wished for Hawaiian vacation after her boyfriend of 4 years cheats on her. Her first day on the island she meets a dreamy tour guide and a vacation romance blooms. When things start to get serious, will Kayla risk her heart that’s already taken a beaten?

The best part of this book is the banter. Like meeting a person you have great chemistry with, good banter is very rare in book form. But there were parts of the book that caused me to giggle. The cute puns and the funny turns of phrases like: “You stay close by this time, where I can’t keep an eye on you” and “If you keep going like that I’ll eye roll hard enough to injure myself.”

At the same time, this seems like a novel of young love. Not in terms of genre, but it terms of first love. Every time Kayla and Jay mention working at desk jobs I am startled because in my head they are 19. It’s neither a positive nor negative in my opinion. And of course the setting of the novel is awesome! There’s a pragmatism to how tourism effects people and places in Hawaii that I find realistic. Lastly, the sex scenes were HOT!

Is it worth buying? (Kindle $2.99)

I’m not sure how many books will be in this series, so Libby, if you are reading this, please let us know, so it depends. Three dollars for a whole book isn’t bad, but if there is more than two it gets a little expensive. Thankfully, it is FREE on Amazon Prime, which is how I read it, and now I am anxiously looking forward to the next volume. Note: that means this was an unbiased review where I received nothing for an honest opinion.

Something else you might enjoy:

If you want to enjoy another island vacation romance that has the potential for happily ever after you might enjoy Not Quite Enough by Catherine Bybee. It is book 3 in her Not Quite series, and you can read my review of them here.

2 thoughts on “Cliffhanger Heartbreak

  1. Pingback: Back from the Cliff | love serially

  2. Pingback: New Zealand Homecoming | love serially

Leave a Reply

