Taken My Heart by Storm

Elder Races by Thea Harrison

Paranormal Romance

Storm’s Heart (Book 2)

Rating: 4.5 (sXe)

Book Cover of Storm's Heart by Thea Harrison

Quick & Dirty summary: Thistle “Tricks” Periwinkle is finally free of the threat of her uncle after his death. Yet, when Tricks, renamed Niniane, tries to take the throne as the legitimate heir to the Dark Fae, assassination attempts have her questioning the loyalties of everyone around her. Wyr sentinel Tiago Black Eagle is sent to find and protect Niniane, and in the process realizes she is his mate. But the Dark Fae have spent centuries at odds with the Wyr, and longstanding prejudices threaten to keep Niniane and Tiago apart.

I was not expecting to like this novel all that much. I was pretty lukewarm about the plot summary, but knew I had to read it in order to continue the series. Imagine my surprise when I loved this book! What I loved most is Harrison once again takes her time in describing and building this fantastical world around for us the reader. The beautiful landscapes, the harsh memories of Niniane’s family, and the sensual attraction between Niniane and Tiago is written about in lush detail. Tiago, himself, is an interesting character, one who doesn’t seem to pull back from his intense reaction to Niniane. Niniane, or Tricks, is a unique character, with a different voice from Pia. Both characters are described in ways that I loved them individually, but especially together.

At the end of the novel, all I could think was it is fucking awesome! It is very rare, almost unheard of, to like the second novel better in a series than the first, but I think this is such an occasion. The pacing of the action was great, the love between the two characters bloomed through adversity, and the sex scenes were hot. It was also an instance of a kind of gender reversal, with Niniane being heir to the throne and in a position of power. However, that was balanced with Tiago’s sheer brute strength and magical power.

Is it worth buying? (Kindle $8.99)

This is a tough one for me. I loved this book, but nine dollars is pretty steep. I borrowed it from the library and so could love it without guilt. But, if you normally buy kindle books, then you should definitely buy this one. The paperback is $5.99, so if it were me, I’d buy the paperback and then try to meet Harrison for an autograph!

2 thoughts on “Taken My Heart by Storm

  1. I know! I was lucky enough to get a paperback copy. But the library has the whole series on kindle at my local library, so I am anxiously waiting for book 3!

    Like

Leave a Reply

