Give this Novel a Chance

Cedar Ridge Novels by Jill Shalvis

Contemporary Romance

This book is the first in a new series by Jill Shalvis. The second book, My Kind of Wonderful, is due out in December 2015.

Second Chance Summer 4 (sXe)

Second Chance Summer by Jill Shalvis

Quick & Dirty summary: Lily Danville has come back to her hometown of Cedar Ridge, Colorado fleeing a scandal and being professionally blacklisted. Unfortunately, when she’s hit rock bottom, she’s also faced with firefighter and rescue worker Aidan Kincaid. Aidan was Lily’s first love, but a tragic accident forced Lily to turn away. What Lily didn’t know was that when she left Cedar Ridge ten years ago she broke Aiden’s heart. Now that she’s back, both Aidan and Lily will have to decide if they are strong enough to pursue a relationship.

To be completely honest, I wasn’t looking forward to reading this novel. The plot seemed a little tired, but what sucked me into this book was Jill Shalvis’ writing style. The words just flowed smoothly and the alternating viewpoints seemed seamless. Once I settled in, the characters kept me moving forward. I loved the emotional strength both Lily and Aiden demonstrated. Aiden was so sweet, trying to help Lily heal her wounds. And the scars that Lily is trying to overcome reveal the common issues between siblings and loved ones.

The only snag for me was how the pacing of the novel. At times I wanted to hurry up and at other times, particularly towards the end when Lily has a problem with Aiden’s job, I wanted to slow down and see how a person would really work through those issues. Instead, it moved along very quickly and didn’t seem to take that particular issue seriously enough.

Is it worth buying? (Kindle $5.99)

Yes. I’ve found that most stories that are this well written cost about $7 on kindle, so this is a great buy, especially for those who enjoy contemporary romance. The writing is strong, the characters are sweet, and the excerpt for the next novel made me anxious for more.

Something else you might enjoy: I have loved the Fool’s Gold Series by Susan Mallery. It is very sweet, with a hometown feel. It’s not set in Colorado, instead it’s set in Fool’s Gold, California, but it has the quaint feeling of Cedar Ridge. It has over 15 books in the series, but I haven’t read one yet that I didn’t like!


3 thoughts on “Give this Novel a Chance

  1. Pingback: MIA Update | love serially

  2. Pingback: Cedar Ridge Series Continues | love serially

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.