Romance Lethargy

One negative aspect of borrowing books from the library is sometimes they expire before you get a chance to read them. This is especially difficult when reading a series. In fact, I’m currently re-reading the Colorado Mountain Series by Kristen Ashley so I can review the novels. I am doing this for two reasons: 1, I can write a better review when the book is fresh in my mind and 2, I often read the books out-of-order due to what is available from the library. In order to read them in order this time, I borrowed all of them at once. That meant I was unable to finish reading the last book before it expired.

Being caught in the midst of a book without being able to finish it, even though I’d already read it, left me in a weird mental/emotional/reading state. Every novel I have tried to read since then has fallen flat. Have you ever been in this kind of lethargic reading state?

First, I tried to read a series I’d read before so I could review it for the blog. I stumbled upon it again because there were new books, so I thought I’d start the Weekday Bride Series by Catherine Bybee from the beginning. After getting a fourth of the way through the book, I couldn’t take it anymore. The characters seemed stiff and the dialogue was stale. I can’t really imagine how I read the series in the first place. But I remember liking the first book the best, so what gives? Is it something about not getting closure with the Colorado Mountain Series?

So I moved onto a new series that I was looking forward to trying. Janet Evanovich has co-authored a series called Fox and O’Hare. In the spirit of the mystery, thriller, suspense genre, with some sexual tension between the two partners to add romance, it seemed like a great change of pace for me. My mom and cousin had loved the Stephanie Plum series by Evanovich so I thought for sure I would love this new one. And I think I could grow to love this series–if I could finish it. Unfortunately I became bored about halfway through the novel, which is usually when things start to get really good. And to be honest, plot-wise, it was deep into a mission that should have had me desperate for more. But the narrative switched third-person point of views so often that I never fell in love with either of the main characters. Is this typical of Evanovich stories?

Then I tried to read another series I haven’t tried before but by an author that I’ve read a lot of:  Nora Roberts. The Inn Boonsboro is a trilogy that is complete, so there is no waiting for additional installments, and Nora Roberts has written some awesome romance novels. However, I probably read about one sixth of the book before moving on to try something else because it was so slow. There is a ghost, there is a high school love interest, and there are three hot brothers, but it just didn’t resonate with me.

I am currently reading a Jayne Ann Krentz book that is a stand-alone novel. Trust No One is a typical Krentz romantic suspense that seems promising. I am about one sixth of the way through and I am curious as to what will happen with the two main characters. While it is a little slow, I remind myself that I need to give it a chance!

After jumping around from book to book and series to series, I am frustrated with myself. A part of me wants to give up and read magazines until the last book in the Colorado Mountain Series becomes available again from the library. Another part of me says suck it up and power through some new novels. I know I will probably go back and try to read some of the novels I’ve given up on. It isn’t unusual for me to bounce around a little until I find a book to read, but normally it is because the books that I tried are just plain bad. That is not necessarily the case this time. Sure, I have some legitimate criticisms of the books I’ve mentioned. Yet, there is a thought in the back of my head clawing at me that maybe it is me and not the books.

Have you ever had this happen to you? Do you get into a reading funk? Are there times when all you want to read is a single author and no other books will do? How have you overcome the lethargy?

2 thoughts on “Romance Lethargy

  1. I am in a reading slump too. My problem is I read free books and so they are not always the best.

    While I really loved the Stephanie Plum series, I don’t read all of her other books. The Charlaine Harris series that True Blood is based on is good. You might want to try it. I don’t like True Blood though , too much see for my taste.

    Love you!

    Like

    • Thanks! Yes, I read all the Charlaine Harris books because of you, but I never watched the show. Despite your and Amy’s recommendation, I never read the Stephanie Plum books. The series seems so darn long! But I tried to read the Temperance Brennan books by Kathy Reichs, since I love the show Bones so much. But I never made it past the third book I think. They were good, but it started to feel repetitive.

      Like

Leave a Reply

