My kind of romantic

My love of series was fated. My dad and mom both love them and I begun life hearing my mom read me the Laura Ingalls Wilder series. Once I learned to read I loved the Box Car Children and Sweet Valley High. So it isn’t a surprise that I enjoy reading books that are part of a larger world created by the author. I wanted to give you a sense of my taste so as you read these reviews you understand how we may be similar or different in what we enjoy.

My Favorite Author: Jane Austen (full disclosure: I wrote my MA thesis on Austen)

My Favorite Novel: Northanger Abbey (xoxo) (this changes from time to time)

My Top 3 Series:

1.  Knitting in the City by Penny Reid (sXe)

2.  Rock Chick by Kristen Ashley (sXe)

3.  The Bridgertons by Julia Quinn (sXe)

I know these are my favorites because I have re-read them countless times. I tend not to re-read novels, so this is the highest recommendation I can give and it’s what usually marks a book a 5 for me. You’ll find that I very rarely rate novels a 5. You’ll see my reviews differ from the reviews on Amazon in that aspect. So by all means, if you are looking for something fun, read a book I’ve rated a 4, unless you’ve very, very picky of course. As a side note, if you click the links to the books you’ll be taken to amazonsmile (or at least that was my intention). I am not getting paid to link these books to amazon, but I thought you might like the extra information and at least a portion of any sale will go to the Sierra Club Foundation. But if you like to go old school like I do, borrow them from the library. That’s how I read the Rock Chick series. It wasn’t until after I read them all that I started buying them to support the author and so I could read them anytime I wanted. To me it’s better than OnDemand–nothing trumps a good book except maybe a good hug.

Leave a Reply

